Media Releases


July 25, 2002

The utility rate review process that was established two years ago will be continued. The Saskatchewan Rate Review Panel will also be maintained, with members now being appointed for staggered terms.

"Crown Investments Corporation (CIC) has thoroughly reviewed the process and the findings show it has been effectively serving the people of Saskatchewan," CIC Minister Maynard Sonntag said. "The Saskatchewan Rate Review Panel has done an excellent job of conducting rate reviews and providing advice to government."

The panel will continue to review rate change requests from SaskPower, SaskEnergy and the Auto Fund administered by SGI, and provide an opinion to government on whether the proposed changes are fair and reasonable. In doing its job, the panel considers the interests of customers, the particular Crown corporation, and the public. Government will remain accountable for making final decisions on rate changes.

The Saskatchewan Rate Review Panel will be chaired by Boris Kishchuk of Saskatoon, a professional consulting engineer who runs his own company. Other new members are Linda Thauberger of Prince Albert, a market research consultant; and John Vinek of Lloydminster, a retired credit union manager. Each has been appointed to a three-year term. Three returning members have been appointed for two years: Vice-chair Jack Boan of Regina, a self-employed consultant and Professor Emeritus at the University of Regina; Jo-Ann Carignan-Vallee, a business person from Assiniboia; and Joan Meyer of Swift Current, a business person who also owns a mixed farming operation.

"I thank the new members for agreeing to serve on the panel, and I look forward to their advice," Sonntag said. "Thanks also to the three members who have agreed to serve for another two years. They have provided a valuable contribution and will continue to do so.

"I also want to thank the people who have completed their service on the panel. Bob Lacoursiere, Tracey Bakkeli and Sheldon Craig are all to be commended for their contributions and their service to the people of Saskatchewan."


For more information, contact:

Carey Robertson
Media Services
Phone: (306) 787-5780
Cell: (306) 539-1902

Biographies of New Panel Members

Boris Kishchuk, Chair

Boris Kishchuk of Saskatoon is a professional consulting engineer and certified management consultant who has operated his own company for more than 30 years. He has an extensive background in business and professional organizations as well as community service.

Kishchuk has a Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering and a Master of Business Administration degree, both from the University of Saskatchewan. He began his career as a design engineer with Canadair in Montreal where he worked on fuel systems for fighter aircraft. He later moved to Ottawa where he worked on a number of building projects including the Ottawa Civic Hospital.

On his return to Saskatoon, Kishchuk was the Saskatchewan area manager for a company that worked on major projects throughout western Canada. After receiving his Master of Business Administration degree, he started his own company, Engineering Management Services Croscan Ltd. He later founded a subsidiary, Croscan Consulting Services, and continues to serve as president of both. He has also lectured at the College of Commerce at the U of S.

Kishchuk is an active member of a number of local boards and committees, including: the Saskatchewan Abilities Council, Saskatoon Nutana Rotary Club, Canadian Club of Saskatoon, and Sherbrooke Foundation. Previous positions include serving as president of the Saskatchewan Jaycees, the Saskatoon Symphony Society, and the Saskatoon Nutana Rotary Club. He has also been a trustee with the Saskatoon Board of Education and a director with the Saskatoon Board of Trade.

Linda Thauberger, Member

Linda Thauberger of Prince Albert is a market research consultant who started her own business, Mercury Information Services, in 2000. She is also active in community and business organizations.

Thauberger has a B.A. (Honours) in Sociology from the University of Saskatchewan. Her varied work experience includes real estate, the restaurant industry, and lab work at Philom Bios. Before starting her own company, she worked as a market research consultant, team leader and project co-ordinator at Trimension Training and Consulting Group Inc. in Prince Albert from 1997 to 2000.

Thauberger has been president of the board of directors of the Prince Albert YWCA since 1999, and has served on the marketing and membership committee of the city’s Chamber of Commerce since 1997. She was president of the Prince Albert chapter of the Women Entrepreneurs of Saskatchewan from 1997 to 2001. She has also been a volunteer with Home Care in Saskatoon and with the Special Olympics in Regina.

John Vinek, Member

John Vinek of Lloydminster is a retired credit union manager who has a distinguished history of service in the co-operative movement, as well as business and community organizations.

Vinek was raised on a mixed farm in the Big Beaver district in southern Saskatchewan. Along with his brother, he took over the family farm at an early age, running a livestock and grain operation. He began his career in the credit union system in 1962 when he became a teller at the Coronach branch. After holding various positions at branches in Lloydminster, Swift Current and Cabri, he became General Manager in Lloydminster in 1968. He retired from the credit union system in 1999 after 37 years of service.

Vinek received the Canadian Credit Union Hall of Fame Award earlier this year, and the Saskatchewan Co-operative Merit Award in 2000. He’s an active member of the Lion’s and Rotary Clubs in Lloydminster, as well as the Legion. He has held numerous elected positions, including: president of the Lion’s Club and the Co-operative Trust Company of Canada, chair of the Central Board for Grace United Church, and city alderman in Lloydminster from 1985 to 1988. Appointed positions include membership on the local Communiplex and library boards, and the board of Saskatchewan Opportunities Corporation.