Media Releases


December 31, 2001

Three new members are being appointed to the board of directors of SaskPower effective January 1st, 2002, to replace board members whose terms have expired.

The new directors are: Janet Wightman, Executive Vice-President and Chief Operating Officer of Farm Credit Canada; Deb Schmidt, a business owner in Yorkton; and Marty Klyne of Regina, President of the Regina Regional Economic Development Authority.

"I am pleased to welcome these highly qualified, talented business people to the SaskPower board," Crown Investments Corporation Minister Maynard Sonntag said. "Their skills, experience and leadership will be a great addition to the board, and I thank them for agreeing to serve."

Sonntag also announced the reappointment of Tom Kehoe of Swift Current as chair of the boards of SaskTel and SaskTel Holding Corporation and James Mills of Elrose as a director of Saskatchewan Government Insurance (SGI). Kehoe is Chief Operating Officer of Legault Manufacturing Ltd., while Mills is a retired insurance broker. Both appointments are also effective January 1st, 2002.

"I would like to thank Mr. Kehoe and Mr. Mills for accepting reappointments to their respective boards," Sonntag said. "I also thank the people who have completed their service as board members. We greatly appreciate their contribution."


For more information, contact:

Ted Boyle
Crown Investments Corporation
Phone: (306) 787-9039