Media Releases


July 20, 1998

Deputy Premier and Crown Investments Corporation Minister Dwain Lingenfelter today announced the appointments of new chairs for the boards of directors of SaskTel, SaskTel Holdco, SaskEnergy, Saskatchewan Government Insurance (SGI) and Saskatchewan Transportation Company (STC).

Tom Kehoe of Swift Current is appointed chair of the SaskTel and SaskTel Holdco boards; Don Cody of Prince Albert is appointed chair of the SGI board; Frank Proto of Regina is appointed chair of the SaskEnergy board and Murray Westby of Watrous is appointed chair of the STC board. All had been vice-chairs of their respective boards. They replace Lingenfelter, who had been serving as chair of each board.

The SaskPower board is not being changed at this time, pending release of the final report from the Channel Lake inquiry.

"During the Crown Review, Saskatchewan people told us that politics should be removed from the day-to-day operations of the Crowns," Lingenfelter said. "We made a commitment to remove Cabinet Ministers as chairs of the Crown boards and replace them with qualified business people and we have kept our commitment."

The enabling legislation was introduced during the recent Legislative session. The Crown Corporations Amendment Act, 1998 was proclaimed on June 29.

"We will have strong and appropriate public accountability for these Crowns through the CIC minister," Lingenfelter said. "These appointments will give us board chairs with the business expertise our commercial Crowns need as they move into a more competitive environment."

Lingenfelter also announced that the following board members have been appointed vice-chairs of their respective boards: Jim Scharfstein of Saskatoon for SaskTel and SaskTel Holdco; Walter Bardua of Nanaimo, B.C. for SGI; Susan Milburn of Saskatoon for SaskEnergy and Judy Harwood of Saskatoon for STC.

All chair and vice-chair appointments are effective immediately, with terms to expire December 31, 2000.


Karen Schmidt
Crown Investments Corporation
Phone: (306) 787-5889